Configuring Translation Settings for Catching Pages to the Translation Queue

In the Configuration for Catching Published Pages to Queue section of the Advanced Settings page, you specify the translation settings for published pages that you add to the Translation Queue, using one of the following features:

  • Catch Published Workflow Pages to Queue
  • Catch Pages from Publish Event to Queue

You specify both these features by selecting the corresponding check boxes in the Translation Settings section of the Configuration page. For more information about these features, see Translation Settings.

To configure the translation settings when sending published pages directly to the Translation Queue:
  1. Click Admin Tools > Advanced Settings in the Lionbridge Connector rail. For information on opening the Lionbridge Connector rail, see Configuring the Connector.

    The Advanced Settings page opens. The Configuration for Catching Published Pages to Queue section is near the bottom of the page.

  1. Click Add.

    The section expands.

  1. Specify the following translation settings for published pages that are added to the Translation Queue:
Field Description
Source Language(s) The source language(s) of the published pages to add to the Translation Queue.
- Enter comma-separated language names, as they are defined in the Language Mapping page, described in Configuring Connector Languages.
- To specify the source language that the Connector will detect from the relevant Blueprint pages, add the {Blueprint} tag.
Target Languages The target languages into which to translate the published pages that are added to the Translation Queue.
- Enter comma-separated language names, as they are defined in the Language Mapping page, described in Configuring Connector Languages.
- To specify the target languages that the Connector will detect from the relevant live copies of Blueprint pages, add the {LiveCopies} tag.
Use LocalTM This feature determines whether to check each component in the source version of the item for any content changes, and send only changed components out for translation. If a component was previously translated and it has not changed, then the Connector does not send it for translation again: Instead, it uses the stored translation. This feature reduces the quantity of content that the Connector sends to translation providers, which reduces your cost. However, it needs the Connector translation backup data, and it increases the Connector processing time before sending out the items for translation.
- If this check box is selected, the Connector checks whether content was already translated before sending it out for translation.
- If this check box is cleared, the Connector sends out content for translation without checking whether it has already been translated.
Select if using Blueprint/Live-copy This option is relevant when the target pages are MSM (Multi Site Manager) live copy pages, which means that Adobe Experience Manager automatically updates a target page when the corresponding source page changes. It prevents the Connector from overwriting unique source content that already exists in the target pages.
This is useful when you are sending a page for translation that has been used in the past to push content to other pages, and includes target page content which has been changed, for example, regionalized. In this scenario you do not want to overwrite the regionalized content as the translation process occurs. Select this option when you do not want the Connector to overwrite components in the target pages that include regionalized content with the newly translated content.
- If this check box is selected, the Connector does not overwrite unique source content that already exists in the target pages.
- If this check box is cleared, the Connector does overwrite unique source content that already exists in the target pages.
Recommendation: Select this check box if you are using the live-copy feature.
Only translate content from locked components This option enables users to send out only content from locked components for translation.
- If this check box is selected, users can send out content for translation only if it is from a locked component.
- If this check box is cleared, users can send out content for translation whether or not it is from a locked component.
Note: Locked components have an inheritance relationship between a source Blueprint page and the connected live copy page. When sending content for translation using Sidekick, users can choose whether to send for translation the content from locked components, which is inherited from a Blueprint component. This is useful if, for example, the page has both global and regional information and you only want to translate (replace) the global content that is created via a Blueprint page. In this scenario, suppose that the regional content on the page is manually translated in house, and that it has not changed. You would not want to tamper with it. However, using the same scenario, the global content from head office has changed and needs translation. You would select this check box to separate the content and localize only the new, inherited content.
Note about Blueprint pages: If the Pickup Content From Blueprint Pages setting is specified, then the Connector always acts as though this option is selected, even if it is not selected. This occurs because only content from locked components are rolled out from Blueprint pages to Livecopy pages. For more information, see UI and Default Settings.
Unlock the component after translated content come back This option automatically unlocks a component after translated content returns.This option is relevant only when the Select if using Blueprint/Live-copy is been selected. After translated content returns, it automatically unlocks a component, which breaks the MSM inheritance.
Warning: This breaks the inheritance between the component and its Blueprint page, so that it no longer inherits new content. However, you can use the CTCRestoreOriginalSync workflow to relock the component and recreate the inheritance. For details, see Viewing the Restore Original Sync Workflow
- If this check box is selected, the Connector automatically unlocks a component after translated content returns.
- If this check box is cleared, the Connector does not automatically unlock a component after translated content returns.
Allow translate content from Not-Sync’d components This option enables users to send content for translation even if it is not synchronized. This means it does not have a relationship to a Blueprint page, so it cannot be synchronized with it. This can happen if you are not using the MSM (Multi Site Manager) feature of Adobe Experience Manager, or if this is a page with regionalized content that does not inherit content from a Blueprint page.
- If this check box is selected, users can send out content for translation if it does not have a relationship to a Blueprint page.
- If this check box is cleared, users cannot send out content for translation if it does not have a relationship to a Blueprint page.
Important: The Connector treats certain page properties (jcr:content, jcr:title, jcr:description) as unlocked page properties. Therefore, if you want the Connector to send these page properties for translation, you must select this check box.
Recommendation: Select this check box if you are using either the live-copy or the language-copy features.
Note about Blueprint pages: If the Pickup Content From Blueprint Pages setting is specified, then the Connector always acts as though this option is selected, even when it is not. This occurs because only content from locked components is rolled out from Blueprint pages to Livecopy pages. For more information, see Enabling Content Collection from Blueprint Pages
  1. Click Save Configuration to save your changes.

A message in red at the top of the page states that the configuration was saved.